Thursday, March 21, 2013

Immigration Reform Video Chat

Demetrios G. PapademetriouPresident, Migration Policy Institute
Kit Rachlis
Editor-in-Chief, The American Prospect 

Tuesday, March 26, 2013
2:30 PM EDT; 1:30 PM CDT; 12:30 PM MDT; 11:30 AM PDT

To begin fixing America’s broken system, we must be guided by both
our highest values and our economic needs. We must also recognize that those
needs will evolve over time -- and our laws must continually evolve with them. 
Beginning with that statement, MPI President Demetrios Papademetriou, in a cover story in the latest edition of The American Prospect magazine, tackles some of the major challenges Congress must resolve if it is to create an immigration system that is in the national interest — now and for the future.
Watch MPI’s President and the Editor-in-Chief of The American Prospect engage in a lively Google Hangout discussion about the policies and politics that have created the United States’ antiquated, inflexible immigration system and how to create a modern-day, flexible immigration system suited for the competitiveness of the 21st century. They’ll discuss recommendations for reform, with a focus on issues that are getting less attention, including: the need for completion of a US entry-exit system, what provisions are needed to assure the economic and social integration of newcomers and their children, and what flexible provisions should be included to guarantee the nation’s strategic priorities.
To get coordinates to watch the video chat online at 2:30 ET Tuesday, March 26, register here.  For more information, call +1-202-266-1929 or email

No comments:

Post a Comment